Words Words everywhere…

What we say matters.

I’ve heard this phrase my entire life. Words are containers for the good or the bad. What do you think?

Please feel free to add your comments.

So you have voted on the blog and have reviewed what other people thought. Now let’s look at it this way.

 

How does this picture make you feel when you look at it?

abusive words alot

Can you identify in any way with the young lady in the picture? Ask yourself,” what do I think when I look at this? “ Does it trigger something in me, either for the good or bad?

Let’s take a look at this picture of a little boy.

abusive words

I want you to take a minute and process this. When you were in grade school, were you bullied? Did a teacher, a friend, a bully or a

family member make similar statements or declarations of your life?   Were you the bully that picked on other kids? If so do you ever think about that
person. Do you ever want to go back and make amends? I say this because I remember being so mean and ugly to a young girl I went to
grade school with. I was mean as a snake to her and now I think about it when I look at my own 13 year old who struggles with her own style and identity.

She’s been bullied. She has been told she is ugly, fat, weird, strange, she’s been called a lot of things. I used to demand that she tell me. And she did. For a time.
But when I would cry and hold her, she would say, “mom it bothers you way more than me, stop crying. I’ll be okay.” My precious bullied child was worried that I was crying.

No regard for herself.

Eventually, when I would ask what was wrong, she’d say oh nothing. I’m just bored. I’ve learned that those 3 words mean that her world is not the best today and
I try harder to show my love and encouragement in any way I can. Friends, as I’ve shared regularly in this blog, I’m very passionate. Trust me, I’ve
talked to the police at the school. (Yes Baltimore County, Maryland schools have officers assigned to the schools- but that is another blog or series of blogs left for
another day.) I’ve talked to teachers, principles, vice principles, special ed, other parents and at times the flipping janitor if I thought they could help protect my
kiddo.
Same response…well she has to tell us who the kids are and then we can stop it… Again, blog series, many many many blogs trying to understand how a child who
is already struggling, targeted as the odd kid, and trying to walk around unseen is going to point out the bully is beyond my comprehension.
Get the picture of the negative word spoken at, to, around, or about someone. Do you think if you could go back an answer the poll your answers would be
different?
Here is our next spin…are you still with me?

creative words

What if someone spoke the following list of words over you every morning when you got ready to go about your day?
What if before you went to bed, you read the list to yourself making it personal for you? Do you think it would have any impact on your life in any way?

Take a minute to read the words and apply them to you personally. Hey while your at it, add some words that apply to you that are NOT listed here.
Hey why don’t you go ahead and write your own list. Who knows you better than you do. As I’ve stated before, no one can do you better than you can. ~~

Do you feel any difference? I know I feel a lot better about being me just reading it.

I know you are asking yourself, “What IS this woman’s point It’s to bring focus on how important words are to me and to you.

It’s just an exercise to teach us all that even the words that we don’t realize we may say matter! I’m human. I know what it means to hurt by someone’s criticisms

and initial judgments. I also know what a kind word spoken at the right time can do for my perspective.

So how about it? What do you think about words now!
Oh, by the way, if no one’s told you today…

you rock

Leave a Reply

