The time between times

I don’t know if I’ve said this or not yet, but we recently made the cross country boogie from Baltimore, Maryland. We loaded up the soccer mom van, two cats and all we could cram in and headed to Texas. 5 days later, and we ended up in a beautiful town called Montgomery Texas which is up the I-45 from Houston.

God moved in our favor and 24 hours after we got here we found an apartment with a great view of Lake Conroe and a wonderful pool. The apartment was the right size for us and was exactly within our budget.

324

Our friends that were here made sure we had a fridge full of food and some necessities to get us started.

Two and a half months later and we are settled in.  My thirteen year old daughter is doing the best she’s EVER done in school; she is involved in our youth group at church and has friends all over the area. She was one of the reasons that we moved in the first place; that she found her own way makes me fill up and thank my Maker over and over again!

Me, I was happy. I worked in the inner city of Baltimore, Maryland with the worst of the worst when it came to addicts. I put in as much time as I could, getting dirty on the front lines and basking in the glory of helping those had given up long ago. Oh it was bloody and messy and I was happier than words could ever express.

Baltimore-City-aerial-view

And then the call came. No not a phone call! Silly wabbit! God, the Big Cheese, The Man upstairs, Abba, JC,  Jesus on the main line …tell him what you want, you know GOD.  Many things fell into place and after a year of intense prayer, preparation, research and very little savings we were on the road.

AND IT IS SO VERY DIFFERENT HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s been quiet and restful and peaceful and I keep looking around and wondering what the heck is wrong? This is not my life. There are no people to help place the pieces back together, no fussing, fights, aggression, name calling and general jimmy jackery.

In talking this over with my Pastor, I came to realize that this is the calm before the storm; OR, the storm of storms that will come in the future. I have been given this time to rest spirit, soul and body. Wow when I think about the love that God has toward me, He has given me a time of rest. Wow! Cool! Wow (did I say that already?) ooooo. Good!

NOW WHAT? There is only so much time to rest and take care of you and study for school and all.

What are we supposed to do in the time between times?

 I can tell you that I’ve been bored since forever ago. So what have I done with this time? I’ve read some new books that I wouldn’t normally read. Signed up for some classes, too, so I could finish my degree. I’ve prayed and prayed and prayed and tried to get a job and cried and prayed and stayed and restarted a business only to put it down again because it wasn’t time for that.

Okay so I’m NOT the example you should follow. Get in the Word and find out what, specifically is right for you to be doing. AND For heaven’s sake, rest too AND get your house in order.

rest

Make sure that before things heat up again that you have a routine in place for yourself, your family and whatever else you are juggling in your life during your quiet time.

I really don’t take to sitting idly by while there are people out there who are suffering. So I have been setting the stage to start in my chosen field again, but slowly this time. I will make sure that I have the right balance of God, family and all the other things in my life.  I didn’t have that before.

If you find yourself in the time between times, PRAY. Ask for Wisdom and direction. Ask what you should be doing during this time. There is always a plan for our lives.  Jesus promised that our Father would send another comforter.

SJ-HolySpirit

The Holy Spirit has been given to lead us into all things that pertain to life and godliness. He is our helper and our teacher.

No matter what…rest…for He alone knows when you will get another chance.

Write and let us know how you’ve dealt with your time between assignments or as I call it the time between times. Until next time, in all you do, do it with Passion.

2 thoughts on “The time between times

  1. HI Barbara, thanks for visiting and following my blog.I used to not have too much going on and thus had a lot of time between times, which I hated because I could never think of how to fill them. I used to yearn to be busy all the time so I’d always know what I should be doing.

    Well, you know what they say about being careful what you wish for. I am indeed now busy all the time, to the point that I would like to have that time between time back to reflect on what I’m doing, where I’m going, what’s truly important to me.

Leave a Reply

